Chakra: Spiraling Energy centers of the Body

Updated: December 27, 2012

Chakra consists of  the facets of one’s consciousness and are not visible to naked eyes.

Chakra refers to each of the seven force centers or energy loci of a human body.

To have control over life it is vital to know and understand the chakra system and keep it in sync.

Chakra refers to each of the seven force centers or energy loci of a human body which regulate the flow of life energy in and out of our body, mind and consciousness. It is derived from a Sanskrit words “Cakram” meaning a wheel and is associated with our physical, emotional and mental interactions.

Symbolically, seven Chakras can be depicted as either like wheels with spokes dividing them into segments or like flowers with petals around the perimeter of the center circle. chakra centersNumber of petals or segments is different for every chakra, denoting the frequency or level of vibrations it receives or radiates. We experience various conditions, situation in life to which we respond differently according to our rational ability, mood etc., along with meeting people who affect our vibration energy. Whatever the decisions we make and how we wish to experience our surrounding world is solely reflected by the chakras which work in accord as a system as well as independently to balance our body and mind. The seven chakras are lined up from the base of the spinal column to the top of the head in ascent, governing the flow of life energy through our energy system.

Chakras are the facets of one’s consciousness and are not visible to naked eyes. Though on physical level, each chakra is linked with a gland or organ of the body which is further connected to other parts resonating at same or similar energy. There are two chief vehicles of interaction of these energy centers with the physical body, namely, the nervous system and the endocrine system. When a person feels tensed in his conscious state and experience stress in a part of his body, same is reflected over the chakra related to that particular part. If this tension or stress is not relieved or blocked, the person starts to exhibit symptoms at physical level as a disease. Thus it is very important to keep the passage open for energy to flow in and out of the body for which all the seven chakras should be aligned with the spinal column and bring in the chakra vibration to same frequency.

The Seven Chakras and their color

Light is a combination of seven colors, having different frequencies and wavelengths, which affect our gland, organs, hormones and even feelings and moods in different manner. Since many of our body functions are regulated by light and its different colors- red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet- it affects our chakra system equally.

Root or Base Chakra

Termed as Muladhara chakra in Sanskrit, this energy center is located at coccyx, base of the spine. The color associated with it is red and it deals with all the chores related to physical and material world. It offers the ability to fight for oneself without feeling cold feet- in short, it teaches us Survival.

Spleen Chakra

This chakra is embedded in lower abdomen, below navel and is linked to one’s ability to sense, issues regarding feelings and intimacy and social issues. Its Sanskrit pronunciation is Svadisthana chakra and is associated with color orange. Any imbalance in its frequency of vibrations could lead to eating disorders, sensuality issues, depression, allergies, urinary troubles and alcohol abuse.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura or Solar plexus chakra governs one’s power to think, balances intellectual abilities and self-control and manages ego power. Located above the navel in the stomach area, it is stimulated by the color yellow.

Heart Chakra

Anahata Chakra, as we call it in Sanskrit, is placed at the centre of the chest and teaches us the lesson of relationships- compassion, love and forgiveness- self-acceptance and self-control. Green color is associated with this chakra who imbalance could lead to heart related problems, immune system ailments and muscular tension.

Throat Chakra

Visuddha chakra or throat chakra is associated with blue color and is located in throat region. Lessons that it supports include ability to trust, loyalty, planning and organization and self-expression. It is liked with thyroid gland.

Brow or Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is of the shape of a pea and is placed at forehead, right in the middle of two eyes. Associated with Indigo color, it supports one’s power to see, trust the insights or intuitions and develop psychic tendencies.

Crown Chakra

Its Sanskrit name is Sahasrara and is nested at the top of the head. This chakra is dedicated towards learning one’s spirituality- connection with the divine. It helps in joining the consciousness and subconsciousness of a person with his superconsciousness.

To have control over life and avoid disturbance on any level- physical, spiritual, emotional or intellectual-, it is vital to know and understand the chakra system and keep it in sync. No food or medicine can solve a problem if the energy inside your house in not in order. So understand more about the rapport between your physical body and consciousness by understanding your chakra system and get to know yourself and your environment better.

NadiaWritten by: Nadia (17 Posts)

Nadia is a life coach and health writer residing in Toronto.

Comments are Welcome!


One Comment

  1. Pingback: Reiki: the Art of Healing with touch | Health and Fitness Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Click to hear an audio file of the anti-spam word